Send comments

The history of Ireland dates back to times before Christianity, the first inhabitants set foot on the Irish coasts after the retreat of the polar ice, the historical evidence of this is based on Roman writings, archaeological remains and books of Irish poetry that have been found and interpreted in order to discover the events that made them inhabit the island.

In the beginning the first native inhabitants of the island created stone weapons with which they carried out their activities, to survive they were dedicated to the hunting of native species and to the harvesting of fruits and other inputs.

When the first inhabitants arrived on the island they developed agriculture, stone monuments and rock art characterized this first stage of Irish civilization, the monuments were aligned astronomically and the primitive society advanced and prospered.

The druids were a kind of Celtic shamans who had religious functions in Ireland. Their influence lasted until the new faith was introduced and Latin studies and Christian practices began in the monasteries. In addition, the monasteries produced writings important to Irish culture such as the Book of Kells, and writing and sculpture flourished. These activities forged a broad culture for the time.

Why are there two Irish women?

The island of Ireland has been politically divided into two states since the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty signed on December 6, 1921, which simultaneously recognized the existence of the new Irish Free State and the ability of Northern Ireland to decide not to join that state.

Which of the two Irish companies belongs to the United Kingdom?

The modern Irish state gained its effective independence from the United Kingdom in 1922, after a war of independence that ended with the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty, while Northern Ireland chose to remain in the United Kingdom.

Read more  Can I deregister and re register my Echo?

When did Ireland become independent from the United Kingdom?

On December 6, 1922, exactly one year after the Anglo-Irish treaty was signed, the entire island of Ireland was effectively separated from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, forming a new dominion of the British Empire, the Irish Free State.


Constitutional Reform that modifies Articles 15 and 18 of the Fundamental Charter, with the purpose of consecrating suffrage as a right of the citizens and its automatic inscription in the Electoral Registries.

Motion initiating a constitutional reform project that modifies Articles 15 and 18 of the Fundamental Charter, with the purpose of consecrating suffrage as a right of the citizens and its automatic inscription in the Electoral Registries.

We submit for consideration of the H. Senate a Constitutional Reform Bill whose purpose is to constitutionally consecrate suffrage as a right or faculty of the citizens and the establishment of the automatic inscription of all citizens in the Electoral Registries.

As it is known, article 15 of our Political Constitution establishes that in popular voting, suffrage shall be personal, equal and secret, and that for citizens it shall also be mandatory.

What was once a conquest for the people, fundamentally for those people of humbler economic strata (those who, as will be remembered, in the past did not have the right to vote), today constitutes a heavy burden, which – paradoxically – affects with greater rigor precisely those citizens of more modest income, since it is in these that the threat of a fine for those who do not vote is truly intimidating.

What is Ulster?

Úlster (Irish: Ulaidh, pronounced [ˈʊləi]; English: Ulster, pronounced [ˈʌlstəɹ]) is one of the “historic provinces” of the island of Ireland. … Six of its counties, with a population (2011) of 1 810 863, constitute Northern Ireland, a constituent country of the United Kingdom.

Read more  What is a BIR certificate?

What is the difference between the two Irish ones?

The island of Ireland is divided in two. Each part of the island represents a country in its own right. To the northeast is Northern Ireland, a nation that is part of the United Kingdom, and on the rest of the island is Ireland, or the Republic of Ireland, an independent state of the United Kingdom.

What is the difference between Northern and Southern Ireland?

Northern Ireland belongs to the United Kingdom, with England, Scotland and Wales. The capital of Southern Ireland is Dublin, and the capital of Northern Ireland is Belfast.


This document is the eighth periodic report that the United Kingdom is required to submit to the Secretary-General of the United Nations under article 18 of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women. The report covers the period from 2011 to 2017.

It was prepared largely in response to the concluding observations and recommendations made by the United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women in 2013 following its consideration of the United Kingdom’s seventh periodic report and presents an article-by-article analysis of the United Kingdom’s implementation of the Convention. Throughout the report, where the text refers to a specific recommendation, this has been indicated by a note at the end of the document.

The report uses statistics and information provided by United Kingdom central government departments, the devolved administrations of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, the governments of the British Overseas Territories and the Isle of Man Crown Dependencies.

What is the Irish question?

From 1912, the British government shuffled through a wide variety of options for Ireland, one of which was to partition the island. “In 1919-1920, partition became the preferred solution to the so-called ‘Irish question,’ although exactly where the border would be had not been agreed upon.”

What were the kingdoms of Great Britain?

United Kingdom: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Great Britain: England, Scotland and Wales.

What happened between Ireland and England?

The Irish War of Independence (Irish: Cogadh na Saoirse) or Anglo-Irish War was a guerrilla war fought between 1919 and 1921 between the Irish Republican Army (IRA, the army of the Republic of Ireland) and British security forces in Ireland.

Read more  Is there a TV tuner app?

Northern Ireland Conflict Causes and Consequences

Under the terms of the union, Ireland would be represented by more than 100 members of parliament in the united parliament, which would meet in the Palace of Westminster. Part of the treaty would be Catholic emancipation. However, this condition was blocked by King George III, who argued that Catholic emancipation would betray his coronation oath.

King George IV let his ministers take the full burden of government affairs, playing a much smaller role than his father, George III. His governments, with little help from the king, presided over victory in the Napoleonic Wars, negotiated the peace settlement, and tried to cope with the social and economic unrest that followed. he was succeeded by his younger brother William IV (1830-1837) , but was little involved in politics. His reign saw several reforms: the Poor Law was updated, child labor restricted, slavery abolished throughout most of the British Empire, and, most importantly, the Reform Act of 1832. He reshaped the British electoral system.

By Rachel Robison

Rachel Robison is a blogger who collects information on court filings and notices.